Sabrina Burdine to Lead Local Economic Development Advisory Council

Hoosier women are creating a legacy of leadership in Southern Indiana. In government, academia, and business, the ranks of female leaders are growing, and on December 10th, 2014, the Radius Indiana region welcomed several women to new leadership roles. 

Washington County Economic Growth Partnership Executive Director, Sabrina Burdine was selected to chair the Local Economic Development Organization (LEDO) Advisory Council for Radius, consisting of economic development executives from Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Greene, Lawrence, Martin, Orange, and Washington counties. These leaders work together to provide counsel and input to the board and staff at Radius Indiana. The LEDO Advisory Council Chair also sits on Radius' Executive Committee. 

Economic development leaders, like Burdine, focus on the attraction and retention of businesses in their counties, promoting economic growth through capital investment and job creation. In the 21st century, however, development is not limited to county lines. A regional approach to economic development provides the coordination and collaboration necessary to create and sustain a high quality of life and place in each community. That is part of why Radius Indiana exists, to represent the entire eight-county region.

Sabrina Burdine is the Executive Director of the Washington County Economic Growth Partnership and newly appointed Chair of the LEDO Advisory Council for Radius Indiana.

"Sabrina has been an outstanding partner in Washington County," said Radius Indiana President/CEO, Becky Skillman. "We are thrilled to have her at the helm of the LEDO Advisory Council and know that her leadership there will help shape another successful year for the entire region. It is certainly inspiring to see women like Sabrina taking more of these roles at the local level."

"I appreciate the LEDO Advisory Council's confidence in me and look forward to working with each County LEDO to develop projects that will help to move our region forward and stay competitive," Burdine said. 

In addition to announcing Burdine's leadership, the Board of Directors also recognized newly minted Greene County EDC Executive Director, Brianne Jerrels, and approved two new board members for 2015. Julia Heitz Cassidy, Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary at Kimball International, Inc. will bring her business acumen as well as legal and professional experience to the board. In addition, the board welcomed Jennifer Vaughan, Chancellor at Ivy Tech Community College in Bloomington. Jennifer will contribute more than 30 years of experience in higher education to her service on the Radius Indiana Board of Directors. 

About Radius Indiana

Radius Indiana is a regional partnership representing eight counties in South Central Indiana: Crawford, Daviess, Dubois, Greene, Lawrence, Martin, Orange, and Washington Counties. Formed in 2009, Radius Indiana also serves as a primary point of contact in Indiana for Crane and leads regional collaboration by leveraging the diverse assets of Southern Indiana to drive attraction, retention and expansion of business, thereby increasing employment and investment opportunities and quality of life within the region.